Matthew Turk Named Department Chair of UCSB Computer Science

July 10, 2017

We are pleased to announce that Professor Matthew Turk will serve as Chair of the Department of Computer Science, upon the recommendation of Rod Alferness, Dean of UCSB's College of Engineering. In his new role effective July 1, 2017, Professor Turk succeeds Professor Ambuj Singh, who served as CS Department Chair since July 2014.

Professor Turk leads an active research program in computer vision and human-computer interaction, and also has served as Department Chair of the Media Arts and Technology Program in the past. Noted Dean Alferness, "I strongly believe that Matthew will represent his colleagues and the department with insight and expertise, and I look forward to working with him." 

Please join us in congratulating Professor Turk on his new leadership role.