Workshop on Computer Architecture Education

Held in conjunction with the

LEAD Technologies Inc. V1.01

35th International Symposium on Computer Architecture

Beijing, China

Saturday, June 21, 2008

Final Program

Web sites of past WCAEs

Archive of WCAE papers


WCAE provides the premier forum for educators in computer architecture to discuss and share their experiences and teaching philosophy. Over 190 papers on computer architecture education have been presented at the workshop since its inception in 1995. The goal is for participants to come away from the workshop with new ideas on delivering courses in computer architecture. Topics of interest include, but are not limited to, the following.

Topics of interest

  • New approaches to introductory courses
  • Advanced courses
  • Development of materials for active learning
  • Laboratory support for distance education
  • Textbook development
  • Textbook selection
  • Critical evaluation of textbook approaches
  • Integration of research into teaching
  • Industrial support for teaching
  • Interdepartmental issues (CS/ECE)
  • National differences in curricula
  • Hardware tools
  • Simulators and other software tools
  • Prototyping
  • Visualization aids
  • VLSI design packages
  • Architectural issues specific to embedded systems
  • Software issues specific to embedded systems
  • Industrial needs regarding embedded systems education
  • Encouraging students to do research
  • Encouraging students to pursue the Ph.D.
  • Recruiting and retaining students in underrepresented groups
  • Increasing interest in computer science

For an idea of what we have published in the past, see the WCAE archive, made possible with funding from the SIGCSE Special Projects fund.

Submission of contributions

Interested authors should submit a full paper (not to exceed 8 pages), following the formatting instructions given in the files in

General Chair
Edward F. Gehringer

Ctr for Efficient, Secure & Reliable Computing
Dept. of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Department of Computer Science
North Carolina State University
Box 7256
Raleigh, NC 27695-7256
+1 919 515-2066

Program Chair

Diana M. Franklin


Department of Computer Science

University of California, Santa Barbara

Santa Barbara, CA  93106

+1 805 893-6197

Local Chair

Xue Wei


Dept of Computer Science and Technology

Tsinghua University

Beijing, P.R.China, 100084


Industry Participation

We encourage participation by book publishers, computer manufacturers, software vendors, or companies that develop or market products used in the delivery of computer architecture education. Any company interested in participating in the workshop should contact the program chair at the address above.

Important Dates

Submission Due Date: Deadline extended!!Monday,May 5, 2008 Please e-mail submissions to diana.franklin [at]
Author Notification: Wednesday, May 14, 2008
Final Paper Due Date: Monday, May 26 2008

Copies of papers presented at the workshop will be made available at the workshop, and in archival form on the Web.

New Opportunity

The ISCA workshop organizers have arranged to publish one or more special issues of journals or newsletters highlighting "The Best of ISCA 2008 Workshops". They will definitely put together a special issue of IJPP (the International Journal on Parallel Programming) focusing on broad-scale parallelism (but this can include tools, programming languages, design evaluations, even visions). Excellent papers that do not fit into another venue will be published in a special issue of Computer Architecture News. We have been assured that none of these opportunities will preclude authors from publishing in refereed conferences or journals.
Program Committee

Mats Brorsson, KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm
João Cardoso, INESC-ID, Lisbon
Dan Connors, University of Colorado
James Conrad, University of North Carolina at Charlotte
Richard Enbody, Michigan State University
Daniel Ernst, University of Wisconsin - Eau Claire
Mark Fienup, University of Northern Iowa
Diana Franklin (chair), University of California, Santa Barbara
Subramanian Ganesan, Oakland University
Edward Gehringer, NC State
Zhiming Gu, Beijing Institute of Technology
David Kaeli, Northeastern University
Nirav Kapadia, Unisys Corporation
Jörg Keller, Fernuniversität Hagen
Xiang Long, Beihang University
Michael Manzke, Trinity College, Dublin
Aleksandr Milenkovic, University of Alabama at Huntsville
Yale Patt, University of Texas at Austin
Antonio Prete, Università di Pisa
Eduardo Sanchez, École Polytechnique Fédérale, Lausanne
Tim Stanley, Brigham Young University-Hawaii
Mitch Thornton, Southern Methodist University
Manish Vachhajarani, University of Colorado
Anujan Varma, University of California at Santa Cruz
Chris Vickery, City University of New York
Wang Dongsheng, Tsinghua University, Beijing
Craig Zilles, University of Illinois

Updated on January 25, 2008