News Archive

April 16, 2019

UCSB Computer Science Professor Yu-Xiang Wang and his co-authors, Borja Balle and Shiva Kasiviswanathan, were awarded a Paper Award from AISTATS 2019. Their paper, “Subsampled Renyi Differential Privacy and Analytical Moments Accountant,” studied the problem of subsampling in differential privacy.

April 15, 2019

UCSB Assistant Professor, Arpit Gupta, received an Honorable Mention at the ACM SIGCOMM Doctoral Dissertation Awards


April 15, 2019

UCSB’s ArchLab, under the direction of Dr. Timothy Sherwood of UCSB’s Computer Science Department, recently received the Best Paper Award at the 24th ACM International Conference on Architectural Support for Programming Languages and Operating Systems (ASPLOS).

April 3, 2019

Hosted by UCSB’s Department of Computer Science, the 2019 CS Summit event was held on Wednesday, March 13, 2019 at Corwin Pavilion and the Lagoon Plaza.

March 27, 2019

Prof. Diba Mirza piloted UCSB's Computer Science Undergraduate Tutor program in 2017 which has now doubled in size since its debut. She took to the opportunity to visit Brown University to discuss best practices with Prof. Andy van Dam who had started the UTA program at Brown CS in the 1960s and is still part of it. 

March 24, 2019

The RockStar Award is SIGMOBILE's early career award. The Award recognizes an individual who has made recent outstanding research or product contributions to the field of mobile computing during the early part of his or her career.

March 19, 2019

UCSB Computer Science Ph.D student, Sujaya Maiyya was recently quoted in a U.S. News and World Report article about U.S. Computer Science degrees. Professor and Department Chair, Matthew Turk, is also featured in this article.  

March 15, 2019

Google received 910 proposals covering 40 countries and over 320 universities. After expert reviews and committee discussions, they decided to fund 158 projects. Of those projects, Computer Science professors William Wang and Tao Yang received this prestigious award!  

February 21, 2019

Computer Science Alumni, Christo Wilson, currently an assistant professor at Northeastern University, has been awarded the prestigious Sloan Research Fellowship this year. 

February 20, 2019

With a heavy heart, the Computer Science department announces the passing of one of our alumni, JoAnne Holliday.