News Archive

October 6, 2009


3:30 – 4:30
Computer Science Conference Room, Harold Frank Hall Rm. 1132

HOST: Subhash Suri

Computer Science, UC San Diego

Title: Getting an Edge at High Speeds: Randomized Algorithms and
Networking Hardware


September 23, 2009

To deal with the complexities of modern software, computer scientists are
increasingly reliant on special software tools such as data-race detectors,
memory bounds checkers, and data flight recorders. However, these tools can
make the programs being tested run hundreds to thousands of times slower
than normal. In their paper on “Quantifying the Potential for Program
Analysis Peripherals”, UCSB students Mohit Tiwari and Shashidhar Mysore,
along with their advisor Professor Tim Sherwood, show that significant

September 21, 2009

Dr. Ben Hardekopf joined our department as an assistant professor. He received a B.S.E. in Electrical Engineering and B.S. in Computer Science from Duke University in 1997, a Master’s degree in Computer Science from SUNY at Utica/Rome in 2000 while serving as an active-duty officer in the United States Air Force, and a Ph.D. in Computer Science from the University of Texas at Austin in 2009.

September 16, 2009

The Department of Computer Science is sponsoring the Fourth Annual Computer
Science Graduate Student Workshop on Computing. The focus of this workshop
is to highlight top student research within the department, promote the
exchange of ideas among students, faculty and industry, and familiarize new
graduate students with the research conducted within our department and the
larger computer science community. Top research papers from graduate
students will be presented as fifteen minute talks. The workshop will also

August 24, 2009

Christopher Kruegel received the 2008 National Science Foundation Early Career Development (CAREER) award. CAREER awards, given to future academic leaders, are NSF’s most prestigious grants for young scholars. The award provides support for research in the amount of 400K dollars over a five-year period. Prof. Kruegel becomes the 17th NSF CAREER Award winner in our department.

June 24, 2009

Computer Science Senior Christopher Casey Cipriano wins the Tirrell
Award for Distinction in Undergraduate Research.

June 22, 2009

UCSB Leadership Awards go to Computer Science department!

June 22, 2009

Ramya Raghavendra, a graduate student in the Computer Science
Department at UC Santa Barbara, wins 2009 Google Anita Borg Memorial

The Google Anita Borg Memorial Scholarship is awarded each year to
female computer science students selected on the basis of academic
excellence and leadership. The scholarships, which carry an award of
$10,000, celebrate the life’s work of the late Anita Borg.

June 22, 2009

The Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM) recently
announced the SIAM Fellows Class of 2009 and the inauguration of the
SIAM Fellows Program. The SIAM fellowship is an honorific designation
conferred on members distinguished for their outstanding contributions
to the fields of applied mathematics and computational science. During
this inaugural year of the program, SIAM confers Fellows status on 183
noteworthy professionals, who will be recognized during the 2009 SIAM
Annual Meeting in Denver, Colorado.