News Archive

June 13, 2007

UCSB Computer Science Department is ranked 16th according to a recent study on
U.S. Computing Graduate Programs. The ranking is based on publication data from
1995 to 2003. The data was collected from the INSPEC bibliographic database.
The article describing the study was published in Communications of the ACM (June
2007, vol. 50, no. 6).

June 13, 2007

Matthew Allen, a PhD candidate in Computer Science Department, will be
recognized with two awards in the commencement ceremony this year. Matthew
will receive the University Award of Distinction which is presented to
students who have made an outstanding contribution to a particular area of
UCSB student life. This award recognizes in-depth or focused involvement
and significant achievement in campus or community activities.

June 11, 2007

The team of Ben Foxworthy and Brendan Blackwood took home the $1000
award for their project CleverContacts at the Google sponsored event.
The group (which originally included Alan Savage, Brian, Stewart and
Matt Brinza) developed a tool that uses CallWave’s Internet Answering
Machine and Plaxo’s Web Sync services to implement electronic
identity management. For more information about the project go to

April 23, 2007

The paper " Approximate Isocontours and Spatial Summaries for Sensor Networks" by graduate student Sorabh Gandhi and Professor Subhash Suri (co-authored with research colleague Dr. John Hershberger from Mentor Graphics) is awarded one of two best paper awards at the 6th Annual IPSN ’07, the premier conference on theoretical and systems aspects of sensor networks.

April 23, 2007

The paper "A General Framework for Clearing Auction of Wireless Spectrum", by students Sorabh Gandhi, Chiranjeeb Buragohain, Lili Cao, and Professors Zheng and Suri, has been awarded one of two best student paper awards at IEEE DySPAN 2007, the leading forum for academia and industry research on dynamic spectrum allocation and cognitive radios. Sorabh Gandhi is currently a Ph.D. student under Prof. Suri, Lili Cao is a Ph.D. student under Prof.

March 27, 2007

The Department of Computer Science received the Departmental Graduate
Mentorship Award for the 2006-2007 academic year. This award is given by
the UCSB Graduate Council and Graduate Division and the decision is based
on data provided by the Department, results of the Doctoral Exit Survey
and statistics on median time to degree, graduation rates and number of
degrees conferred.

The following is an excerpt from the award citation for the Departmental
Graduate Mentorship Award for Computer Science:

March 27, 2007

Professor Kevin Almeroth received the 2006-2007 UCSB Academic Senate
Distinguished Teaching Award. The purpose of this award is to encourage
and reward excellence in teaching at UCSB. This award is a great addition
to the long list of awards Kevin has already received for his teaching.
Kevin has won the Computer Science Faculty Teaching Award four times
(1998, 1999, 2000, and 2005) and also earned a UCSB Spotlight on Excellent
Award in 2001 for his teaching. Kevin’s outstanding contributions to
teaching at UCSB include:

March 27, 2007

Professor Amr El Abbadi received the 2006-2007 UCSB Academic Senate
Outstanding Graduate Mentor Award. The goal of this award is to encourage
and reward excellence in mentoring graduate students on the Santa Barbara
campus. Amr has been one of the key architects of the impressive growth in
our graduate programs, both in terms of numbers and, perhaps more
importantly, in terms of quality.

Throughout his academic career at UCSB, Amr excelled in every aspect of
graduate mentorship by:

March 26, 2007

On March 21st, 2007, Professor Krintz’s new outreach class on
Information Technology and the Community (CS193) held its awards
ceremony. Thanks to support from Microsoft, three awards were
available for extraordinary mentoring, leadership, and technological
contribution by three undergraduates in the class.

December 4, 2006

Lamia Youseff’s paper, recently presented by Lamia, at the 2006
Workshop on XEN in HIgh-Performance Cluster and Grid Computing, was
selected as one of two papers to receive the best paper award.
Lamia is a PhD student in Prof. Rich Wolski’s MAYEM lab and
investigates cutting edge solutions to using software virtualization
to effectively enable high-performance computing. Lamia’s paper is
called Paravirtualization for HPC Systems and her co-authors are
Prof. Rich Wolski, Brent Gorda (from Lawrence Livermore