News Archive

March 21, 2006

Frédéric G. Gibou, an assistant professor of computer science
and mechanical engineering is among this year’s 116 national
winners of prestigious Sloan Research Fellowships from the
Alfred P. Sloan Foundation. The new Sloan Research Fellows
were selected from among hundreds of highly qualified
scientists in the early stages of their careers on the basis
of their exceptional promise to contribute to the advancement
of knowledge. In the 50 years that the Alfred P. Sloan
Foundation has been awarding research fellowships, 34 former

March 15, 2006

Professor Zheng’s research into cognitive radios and dynamic spectrum
networks has caught the attention of MIT Tech Review, a highly respected
magazine focusing on technology with current circulation around 300,000.
The article by Neil Savage can be found in the current issue of
Technology Review (March/April), or online at their website:

March 15, 2006

Two young faculty members, Chandra Krintz and Ben Zhao, received the
National Science Foundation Early Career Development (CAREER) award in
2006. CAREER awards, given to future academic leaders, are the
foundation’s most prestigious grants for young teacher-scholars. The
awards provide support for research in the amount of $400K-$480K for a
five-year period.

March 10, 2006

Graduate Program Assistant Amanda Hoagland received the Citation of
Excellence Award and Computer Systems Manager Richard Kip was honored as
an excellent employee by the UCSB Staff Assembly this year. The purpose
of these awards is to acknowledge and celebrate outstanding achievements
and meritorious service of career staff.

The excellent job performances of Amanda Hoagland and Richard Kip are best
explained by the following quotes from the nomination letters written by
the faculty.

March 7, 2006

UCSB Foundation Trustee Mark Bertelsen and his wife, Susan, have made a major gift to establish an endowed chair in computer science at UC Santa Barbara.
The Bertelsens, both UCSB graduates, have chosen to name the chair in memory of Susan Bertelsen’s father, Eugene Aas. The Eugene Aas Chair in Computer Science will be used to attract and support the research of a leading junior faculty member working in the forefront of the discipline.

March 6, 2006

Trade group reports that domestic increase in technology jobs offsets the work being sent overseas. Hiring demand in the field of information technology is now higher than during the .com era.

Read more from CNN here.

December 6, 2005

Karl and Pamela Lopker and the Lopker Family Foundation have made a major gift to help establish the first endowed chair in computer science in UCSB’s College of Engineering (COE).
The endowed professorship will support the teaching and research activities of a distinguished scholar recruited to fill the position. The donors have named the chair in honor of Venkatesh “Venky” Narayanamurti, a dynamic leader and distinguished physicist who served as COE’s dean from 1992 until 1998. He left to become Harvard University’s dean of engineering and applied sciences.

November 17, 2005

The paper titled “Application of Design for Verification with Concurrency Controllers to Air Traffic Control Software” received the best paper award and the ACM SIGSOFT distinguished paper award at the 20th IEEE/ACM International Conference on Automated Software Engineering (ASE 2005). The paper presents an experimental study on the application of the design for verification approach developed by Professor Tevfik Bultan and his student Aysu Betin-Can to a safety critical software system.

November 10, 2005

Haitao Zheng, an assistant professor of Computer Science at UC Santa Barbara, has been named one of the nation’s top 35 innovators under age 35 by MIT’s Technology Review magazine. The magazine recognized Haitao, 30, and other chemists, biologists, software engineers, and chip designers for gravitating to “the most interesting and difficult scientific and engineering problems at hand, and arrive at solutions no one had imagined. They take on big issues.”

August 2, 2005

We are pleased to announce that the UCSB team, called “Shellphish”, won the
“Capture The Flag” competition at DEFCON. The team was led by Professor
Giovanni Vigna from the Department of Computer Science and was mostly composed
of Computer Science graduate students.