Announcements Archive

Congratulations to William Wang, who received the prestigious Karen Spärck Jones Award. Professor Wang will officially accept this award and deliver a lecture in Dublin in April 2023.

Due to illness, this Colloquium has been cancelled. We look forward to rescheduling this event in the future and wish the speaker a speedy recovery! 

A paper coauthored by Professor Arpit Gupta has been awarded the Applied Networking Research Prize (ANRP) by the Internet Research Task Force (IRTF). This work also received the Best Paper Honorable Mention at ACM CCS in 2022. 

Join us in HH 1010 on Monday, January 16th, for Denny Zhou's talk, "Teach Language Models to Reason". We hope to see you there!

Anisha Kabir received Honorable Mention for the Computing Research Association's (CRA) 2023 Outstanding Undergraduate Researcher Award.

A UCSB led team was one of the eight teams selected by DARPA for the Hardening Development Toolchains Against Emergent Execution Engines (HARDEN) program. 

Tune in on Monday, December 5th, 2022, at 3:30 pm for Ang Li's talk, "Efficient, Programmable, and Manufacturable Hardware: The Case for Synthesizable FPGAs". Open this article for the Zoom link. 

Stop by HFH 1132 on Wednesday, November 30th, at 3:30 pm for Leana's talk, "Predicting Performance of Distributed ML Systems". All are welcome!

Come by HH 1010 on Friday, November 18th at noon for Anupam Gupta's talk, "Algorithms for Uncertain Environments: Going Beyond the Worst-Case". There will be plenty of pizza!

Stop by HFH 1132 on Thursday, November 17th, at 2:00 pm for Mathias Payer's talk, "Tales of Program Crashes and Vulnerabilities". Everyone is welcome! 

Stop by HFH 1132 on Wednesday, November 16th at 3:30 pm for Veljko Pejovic's talk, "No 100% accuracy - no problem! Make Mobiles do More with Approximation". Hope to see you all there!

Stop by HFH 1132 on Tuesday, November 15th, at 3:30 pm for Zahra Montazeri's talk, "Realistic Modeling and Rendering of Fabrics". Everyone is welcome!

Stop by HH 1010 on Monday, November 14th, at 3:30 pm for Ryan Tibshirani's talk, "Advances and Challenges in Conformal Prediction".

Join us in HFH 1132 on Friday, November 11th, at 2:30 pm for Arthur Jacob's talk, "AI/ML for Network Security: The Emperor has no Clothes". All are welcome!

Come by HFH 1132 on Wednesday, November 9th, for Tuukka Korhonen's talk, "Improved Parameterized Algorithm and Approximation Scheme for Treewidth". There will be pizza for all attendees! 

Join us in HFH 1132 on Monday, November 7th, at 3:30 pm for Francisco Ortega's talk, "Multimodal and The Case for Microgestures in Augmented Reality". Hope to see you all there!

Stop by HH 1010 on Friday, Oct. 28, at noon for Daniel Frishberg's talk, "Flow-based projection-restriction methods for rapid mixing of geometric and combinatorial Markov chains". Come grab a slice of pizza and study the art of bounding the spectral gap of a projection chain!

Wednesday, October 26th: Join us in HFH 1132 at 3:30 pm for Charlie Carlson's talk, "Algorithms for the Ferromagnetic Potts model on expanders". Pizza will be served! Everyone is welcome. 

Join us on Monday, Oct. 10, in Bren Hall, Seminar Room 4016 at 12:15 pm for Dr. Amir Behzadan's talk, "Leveling the Playing Field: Artificial Intelligence for Equitable and Inclusive Disaster Resilience". Can't make it in person? Join us via Zoom! Link inside. Everyone is welcome!

Assistant Professor Michael Beyeler has received a $1.5 million NIH Director's New Innovator grant, to further his work on smart bionic eye vision. Michael aims to bring to the mainstream an AI-powered bionic eye that can generate artificial vision, in an effort to increase the quality of life for patients who are blind or visually impaired.

Stop by HFH 1132 on Monday, Oct. 3, at 3:30 pm for Yuheng Bu's talk, "Can Information Theory Characterize Learning Algorithms?". Come one, come all!


How many times do you have to shuffle a deck of cards to achieve a random ordering?  

well-known result of Persi Diaconis (with Bayer) showed that: 7 shuffles are necessary and suffice.

This Friday, September 30th, join us in Bren Hall room 1414 at noon for a CS-PSTAT Distinguished Lecture by Persi Diaconis on "Adding Numbers and Shuffling Cards".

It's not too late! Register now for the fourth annual Responsible Machine Learning Summit on Friday, October 7, 2022. This year, the theme is Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning Research at UC Santa Barbara.

Join us on Monday, Sept. 26, in HFH 1132 at 3:30 pm for Theodore Papamarkou's talk, "The premise of approximate MCMC in Bayesian deep learning". Everyone is welcome!

Ashley Bruce, who received our CS Outstanding MS Student of the Year Award in 2022, was highlighted for her work on optimizing retinal implant designs in the MICCAI Daily Magazine.


This event has been postponed until further notice. 

UPDATE: This CS Colloquium has been rescheduled for July 18, 2022 at 11 am, and moved to Zoom only

Interested in understanding when and how neural networks should be used? Tune in for Matthias Nießner's talk, "Neural Surface Reconstruction: To Learn or Not to Learn?" Visit the Events Calendar page for the Zoom link. We hope to see everyone there! 

This summer, grow your expertise in the cutting edge of Markov Chains. Join Stefankovic, Tetali, and Vigoda's Summer School, from August 8th - August 12th, 2022, where you will expand your knowledge while nestled away between the UCSB Lagoon and calming sea.

Join the Computer Science department at ESB 1001 on Friday, June 10th at 10 AM PDT as we award our students, faculty, alumni, and staff for their high achievements!


Join us in HFH 1132 at 12 pm for Albert Rubio's talk, "Formal Methods for ZK Proving Systems: Challenges in the Circom Programming Language". Refreshments will be served! Everyone is welcome!

The 2022 CS Spring Undergraduate Research Showcase will be held on Friday, June 3rd, as a two-part event. Join us virtually for part 1, where DIMAP seniors will speak about their research. Then, head over to the ESB 1001 patio area for poster presentations by ERSP and DIMAP students.


This Wednesday, June 1, 2022: Come by HFH 1132 at 3:30 pm for Yang Zhang's talk, "Learning to Disentangle Speech Information". Can't make it in-person? Join us virtually via Zoom! Visit the Events Calendar page for the Link. Hope to see everyone there!

Tune in Monday, May 23rd, at 3:30 pm, for Linhai Song's talk, titled, "Detecting Concurrency Bugs in Go Software Systems". Visit the Events Calendar page for the Zoom link. All are welcome!

Upcoming Seniors: It's not too late! Apply for the Distinction in the Major Program (DIMAP) today. Do you want to apply your developing skills and knowledge to a challenging research or technological problem? If so, this program is for you!

Students present innovative capstone projects during the Computer Science Department’s summit.cs.  

On Wednesday, March 9, 2022 the UC Santa Barbara Computer Science Department will host summit.cs—bringing together undergraduates, graduate students, faculty, alumni, and industry partners in a day-long program of sharing ideas and making connections. The event will be held in person in Corwin Pavilion.

In-Person CS Talk on February 10, 2022.

Check out CS PhD Student (Adv: Elizabeth Belding) Esther Showalter's Grad Slam 2022 Qualifying Round video.

There is great promise and potential in artificial intelligence (AI), but if such technologies are built and trained by humans, are they capable of bias?

To see our current job openings please visit the Open Positions webpage.