Umesh Mishra, James Buckwalter, Igor Mezić, and Timothy Sherwood

By the UCSB College of Engineering

Four professors in UC Santa Barbara’s College of Engineering have been recognized by their peers as the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), the world’s largest technical professional organization, announced its major awards and recognitions for 2022. Umesh Mishra, the Donald W. Whittier Distinguished Professor in the Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE) Department, received one of the IEEE’s most prestigious honors, the 2022 Jun-ichi Nishizawa Medal. Professors James Buckwalter, Igor Mezić, and Timothy Sherwood were elevated to the rank of Fellow, the highest grade of membership that the institute confers upon its members in acknowledgement of their extraordinary record of accomplishments in one of the IEEE’s fields of interest.

“From ensuring the integrity and efficiency of computer architecture and circuits, to broadening the applications of the Koopman operator theory and gallium nitride in electronics — professors Sherwood, Buckwalter, Mezić, and Mishra are conducting pioneering research that advances technology for the benefit of humanity, which is the IEEE’s ultimate mission,” said Tresa Pollock, Alcoa Distinguished Professor Materials and interim dean of UCSB’s College of Engineering and the Alcoa Distinguished Professor of Materials. “We offer congratulations to each of them for receiving these well-deserved honors from their peers.”

Read the full article here.